Great Valentine Gala

Changing the Way Canadians Think About Disability

Great Valentine Gala

The Great Valentine Gala, held every February in Toronto, is the CFPDP's No. 1 fundraising event. It has raised close to $13 million and has become a glittering showcase for the unheralded achievements of physically challenged Canadians everywhere.

"It's changed the way we think about people with disabilities." Its driving force has been Toronto businessman, philanthropist and CFPDP founder Vim Kochhar. "People with disabilities have so much to offer yet they've been marginalized mostly on the basis of appearance," says Kochhar. "The Gala is a celebration of the things that really matter - things like character, compassion and community. We've had over 22,000 people at the Gala since it started in 1985 and active involvement from many of our leading corporations. "It's a great way to build awareness." Great Valentine Gala revenues have helped support many organizations, programs, services, special events and homes for many physically challenged Canadians.

Event Information

Saturday, February 8, 2014

Westin Harbour Castle Hotel
Metro Ballroom

6:00 pm - Reception
7:00 pm - Dinner
8:30 pm - Awards
9:30 pm - Show Time

Starring: André-Philippe Gagnon

Previous Entertainment


King Clancy Winners

Kenneth Fredeen, Bernard Gluckstein

Previous King Clancy Winners

Corporate Award Winners

Canadian Paralympic Committee, Scotiabank

Previous Corporate Award Winners

Hon. David C. Onley Award

Dr. Geoff Fernie


Photo Gallery




Event Flyer
Advertising Information
Corporate Involvement Summary
Sponsor Benefits
Ticket Order Form



His Excellency the Right Honourable
David L. Johnston
C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., C.D.
Governor General of Canada

Honorary Patrons

The Honourable
David C. Onley,
Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

Honorary Chairs

Dan Fortin
IBM Canada

Ellis Jacob
President & CEO
Cineplex Entertainment

Past Chairpersons

Sabi Marwah
Yezdi Pavri
Sonja Bata
Reid Bigland
Edwin Brust
Ed Clark
John Cleghorn
Tony Comper
Elvio & Marlene DelZotto
George Eaton
The Honourable J. Trevor Eyton
Al Flood
Robert Gillespie
Bobbie Gaunt
Paul Godfrey
Peter C. Godsoe
Boris Jackman
Robert Johnson
Maureen Kempston Darkes
G. Yves Landry
Rick Waugh
Michael Wilson

Gala Chairperson

George Przybylowski

Foundation Chairperson

The Honourable Vim Kochhar