Canadian Disability Hall of Fame:
Recognizing those who have opened doors for people with disabilities

About: The Canadian Disability Hall of Fame (CDHF) has provided permanent recognition of outstanding Canadians who have made extraordinary contributions to enriching the quality of life for people with physical disabilities. Founded by the CFPDP, this public exhibit was officially opened February 11, 1994 in Metro Hall in Toronto.  It is open to the public 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

The scope and depth of the contributions made by these individuals to the betterment of life for people with disabilities is astonishing — and every year since, the Disability Hall of Fame has added more inductees, equally remarkable, to its permanent exhibit at Toronto’s Metro Hall.

“I’ve been doing this for 29 years, and each year our Selection Board does an incredible job of identifying individuals who are genuine heroes of our society. They stand out for their accomplishments, and they inspire us all to be better citizens, neighbours and friends, thanks to the contributions of this year’s extraordinary inductees — and all those who preceded them into the Hall of Fame — Canada is a better place with a brighter future for all its citizens, today and in the future,” Hon. David Crombie

Canadian Disability Hall of Fame located in the Rotunda, at Metro Hall, 55 John Street, Toronto, ON

Inductees and Nomination Process: Nominations to the Hall of Fame come from sources across Canada – community groups, private citizens, associations and organizations of and for people with physical disabilities. Nominees are chosen each year by the Disability Hall of Fame’s Selection Board in the category of Builder, Achiever or Athlete.

The Canadian Disability Hall of Fame recognizes distinguished Canadians who have made significant contributions in assisting, or enhancing the lives of persons with physical disabilities. Both physically disabled and non-disabled persons may be inducted into the Disability Hall of Fame.  The inductees are individuals who truly have made a difference – those who have opened doors for people with disabilities in the areas of sports, education, employment or housing.

Nominations are collected year round and every June, three Canadians are selected to be inducted into the Canadian Disability Hall of Fame.

Selection Categories:
Builder: Persons who have distinguished themselves by making extraordinary contributions to enhance the lives of persons with physical disabilities: those in the field of medical research whose significant discoveries enhance and enrich the lives of persons with physical disabilities.
Achiever: Those who have worked to heighten public awareness about persons with physical disabilities and increased opportunities for them in the area of sports, education, employment and housing: those who are an inspiration to others who have physical disabilities.
Athlete: Those with physical disabilities who have excelled as athletes

We have always strived to bring people together in a broader understanding of what people with disabilities can really do,” said Honourable Vim Kochhar. “They are remarkable and inspiring. I am very proud of them and they serve as strong role models for all Canadians.

Canadian Disability Hall of Fame 2022 Inductees

Josh Dueck
Vernon, BC

Josh Dueck is a two-time Paralympian and influential leader of sport. He began Para alpine skiing just one year after a 2004 accident on the slopes changed his life. Dueck won silver in the men’s sitting slalom race during his Paralympic debut at Vancouver 2010. At Sochi 2014, he won his second Paralympic silver, this time in the downhill. Days later, Dueck took gold in the super combined and was named flagbearer for the closing ceremonies. He also had repeated success on the World Cup circuit and multiple world championships podium finishes. Since his retirement, Dueck has continued advancing the Paralympic movement, including leading the 2022 Canadian Paralympic Team to Beijing as Chef de Mission. He is an ambassador for several organizations and a mentor to others who have had life-altering injuries.

Lorin MacDonald
Toronto, ON

Lorin MacDonald is a passionate human rights lawyer and disability advocate, widely respected for her unwavering commitment to public awareness and positive change. MacDonald was lead organizer of a forum encouraging Ontario’s government to enact stronger disability legislation. The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) was introduced six weeks later and became law in June 2005. Also passionate about communications inclusion, she created HearVue, a social enterprise educating about the benefits of captioning at live and virtual events. Since that time, MacDonald has shown that captioning helps diverse audiences while introducing it at universities, Superior Courts and social justice tribunals. Thanks to her efforts, live theatre captioning is now standard at several Ontario venues. MacDonald has also been a volunteer for many organizations since her teens..

Greg Westlake
Burlington, ON

Greg Westlake is an outstanding athlete and one of the world’s best Para ice hockey players. Now retired, he represented Canada proudly over an impressive career spanning a decade and a half. Westlake won gold during his Paralympic debut in 2006, then added silver and bronze medals in subsequent Games. He was captain of Canada’s Para ice hockey team (2010-2019) and a flagbearer for the opening ceremonies at Beijing 2022. Westlake is also a nine-time world championship team member with three world titles. Off the ice, he is a dedicated leader, role model and volunteer. Westlake gives back as a Board member of Canadian Sport Institute Ontario, representative of the Hockey Canada Foundation Assist Fund, spokesperson for Jumpstart’s “Play Finds a Way” project and mentor to children with a similar disability..

Team Members


Her Excellency
The Right Honourable Mary Simon
C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., O.Q., C.D.,
Governor General
and Commander-in-Chief of Canada

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell
OC, OOnt
Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

Honorary Patrons

The Honourable
Hal Jackman,
Former Lieutenant Governor
of Ontario

The Honourable
David C. Onley,
Former Lieutenant Governor
of Ontario


The Honourable David Crombie

Founding Chair

The Honourable Vim Kochhar

Event Chair

Tony Wight

2022 Canadian Disability Hall of Fame Video